Blocking and unblocking a contact in messages

Apple iPhone 5S on iOS 12.0.0

Link successfully copied to clipboard
Copy link

Discover how to block or unblock a contact in the Messages app. When a contact is blocked, you'll no longer receive phone calls, messages, or FaceTime from them.

  1. Step 1/11

    From the Home screen, tap Settings.

    The indicator is in the center.
  2. Step 2/11

    Scroll to Messages.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  3. Step 3/11

    Tap Messages.

    The indicator is towards the left.
  4. Step 4/11

    Scroll to Blocked.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  5. Step 5/11

    Tap Blocked.

    The indicator is towards the right.
  6. Step 6/11

    Tap Add New.

    The indicator is towards the top.
  7. Step 7/11

    Select the contact you'd like to block.

    Note: When a contact is blocked, you'll no longer recieve phone calls, messages, or FaceTime from them.

    The indicator is in the center.
  8. Step 8/11

    To unblock a contact, tap Edit.

    The indicator is in the top right.
  9. Step 9/11

    Tap the Minus sign icon.

    The indicator is in the top left.
  10. Step 10/11

    Tap Unblock.

    The indicator is in the top right.
  11. Step 11/11
    Step 11 of 11:

    You've completed the steps!

    There are no indicators associated with this step.

Was this tutorial helpful?