Performing a factory reset

Apple iPhone 5S on iOS 12.0.0

Link successfully copied to clipboard
Copy link

A factory reset will erase all data from your device and is irreversible. This is good to do if you are going to trade in or sell your device. It will wipe all of your personal information from the device.

  1. Step 1/9

    From the Home screen, tap Settings.

    The indicator is in the center.
  2. Step 2/9

    Scroll to General.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  3. Step 3/9

    Tap General.

    The indicator is towards the left.
  4. Step 4/9

    Scroll to Reset.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  5. Step 5/9

    Tap Reset.

    The indicator is towards the right.
  6. Step 6/9

    Tap Erase All Content and Settings.

    Note: Before you proceed, make sure to back up all photos, videos, and data you'd like to keep. When you factory reset iPhone, all your files will be deleted. If necessary, enter your passcode.

    The indicator is towards the right.
  7. Step 7/9

    Tap Erase iPhone.

    The indicator is in the center.
  8. Step 8/9

    Tap Erase iPhone again.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  9. Step 9/9
    Step 9 of 9:

    You've completed the steps!

    There are no indicators associated with this step.

Was this tutorial helpful?