Troubleshoot lost recordings

How to cancel or change a program to resolve a recording conflict

If you try to record more HD programs than your digital box has space for, a recording conflict alert will appear. Cancel at least one recording to resolve this problem.

Lost recordings

Losing a recorded show can be frustrating. Depending on the show, you may be able to watch it using TV On Demand. TV On Demand offers plenty of great shows. Anything found under the major networks category is commonly free. You will be shown a dollar sign if there are any costs associated with the program you wish to watch. If you subscribe to a Movie channel like, for instance, HBO, all HBO programming can be viewed for free in On Demand.

Should you lose all of your PVR recordings at once, it is best to contact us to help you resolve the issue.

PVR is full

It is important to keep an eye on PVR capacity. The default setting is for the PVR to delete older recordings to accommodate new recordings.

You will not be able to use 100% of the storage, as some of it is required to run the PVR.

To check PVR storage status:

  1. Navigate to your recordings
  2. Using the arrows around the middle of your remote, scroll to the right. The last option should read “PVR storage”
  3. Press OK to access the menu
  4. Here you will find how much storage has been used and how much is left. You can also see the available hours you can record in both SD and HD

If you want to save a recording and prevent it from being deleted:

  1. Navigate to the recording you wish to save
  2. Press OK to enter the menu
  3. Press down and select Save. Press OK
  4. The default setting should read “Save until space needed”
  5. Press right and down with your remote. The ring next to “Save until I delete” should turn green
  6. Select OK

Note: Doing this to all your recordings will prevent the auto-delete feature from running. If this is the case and the PVR storage is full, no new recordings will be able to be added.

Program did not record

If you find a specific show is regularly not recording, it could be based on the data being sent by the channel provider. To prevent certain episodes from not recording, ensure you set the record settings to first run and rerun.

To change recording settings:

  1. Navigate to the recordings screen using your remote
  2. Press the right arrow on your remote until you see Series
  3. Locate the show you are looking to edit and select OK
  4. Scroll down to Change settings and select OK
  5. Press right and down until you see Show type
  6. Press OK to change the settings
  7. Select First run & rerun
  8. Press left and select Save changes

If you are simply missing the end of a show due to differing end times than what is presented in the guide, you may need to change the recording end time. This is common with sports programming that may go into overtime or the prime time programming that occurs after a sports event. Several networks just roll into the programming after a late golf tournament or football game and run the program outside of the planned schedule.

To edit the beginning or end time of a recording:

  1. Navigate to the recordings screen using your remote
  2. Press the right arrow on your remote until you see Series
  3. Locate the show you are looking to edit and select OK
  4. Scroll down to Change settings and select OK
  5. Press right and down until you see Stop recording
  6. Press OK to change the settings
  7. Select the desired extra time you think will be necessary
    Note: It doesn’t matter if the guide has another show set to record during this time, the recording will continue uninterrupted.
  8. Select Save
  9. Press left and select Save changes

Recording conflict

If you try to record more programs than your digital box can accommodate, a recording conflict alert will appear. Cancel at least one recording to resolve this problem.

To cancel the program that caused the conflict:

  1. Select Don't record
  2. Press OK

To change which program(s) to record:

  1. Select Resolve conflict
  2. Press OK
  3. Use the arrows to select the program(s) you want to record
  4. Press OK. Other program(s) will no longer be marked with a red record icon
  5. Select Save changes and press OK

Note: Until a conflict is resolved, programs will still be scheduled but not be recorded. This will be indicated by a red, crossed-out record icon.

Did this solve your issue?

Yes No

Please do let us know, we're updating support articles all the time.

Thank you for your feedback

Why didn't this content help?

How can we improve the content of this article?

Remaining characters: 250

Other ways to get support