If your 2-year contract on a Your Choice, Shareplus or promotional non-shareable plan has recently ended, you’re eligible to upgrade your device online with a Peace of Mind or Simple Share plan today.
When sharing data with multiple users
If you’re sharing data with two or more users on the account, here are some things to keep in mind:
Eligible customers can change to a Simple Share plan and the data from that new plan will be shared with any other Simple Share, Your Choice or Shareplus plan users on the account. These shareable data plans are compatible with each other.
: You have a device user that is accessing 9 GB of data from another user on the account. If the device user that’s accessing the 9 GB changes to a 3 GB Simple Share plan, both users on the account now have a total of 12 GB that they can both use every month.
For customers on Your Choice and Shareplus plans, only the primary device user that has the shareable data add-on may change the monthly data for the account. When visiting the Plans and Devices section in My TELUS and viewing a secondary device user that is accessing the account’s shareable data, you will be prompted to change the primary device user’s plan.
Once an eligible customer is on a Simple Share plan, you can change that device user or any other user on a Simple Share plan once per billing cycle to adjust the total shareable data on the account.
Changing to a Peace of Mind plan when sharing data with multiple users
If eligible for a Peace of Mind plan and are currently sharing with two or more users on the account, here are some things to keep in mind:
Peace of Mind plans are not shareable with Simple Share plans or older share plans, like Your Choice and Shareplus.
You will not be able to change a device user to a Peace of Mind plan online if that user has all of the data for the account. This is because the other users would not have any data if you moved this user to a non-shareable plan. You can
by visiting a store, by phone or by chat for help with this.
If you are changing a device user that has some but not all of the data for the account, then you will be advised that making this plan change will result in less shareable data for the other account users. This is because any shareable data add-ons on the user that is changing to a Peace of Mind plan will be lost, since it is not compatible with this plan.
The above applies when you have a smartphone and other connected devices sharing data, like a tablet, smart watch or Drive+. If you change your smartphone device to a Peace of Mind plan, then the other devices will only have access to the total shareable data across what is included in those device plans.
If you’re on a Peace of Mind Connect plan
The data included in your Peace of Mind plan can only be accessed by the subscriber with that plan, unless it is a Peace of Mind Connect plan.
The high-speed data included in Peace of Mind Connect plans will combine across all smartphone and connected device subscribers on the account that have a Peace of Mind Connect plan.
Once a subscriber is on a Peace of Mind Connect plan, they can only change their plan to another Peace of Mind Connect plan option online.
If you’re on a non-shareable promotional plan with a 2-year term, or a voice only plan
Unfortunately, you won’t be able to change your plan online at this time but you can