Performing a factory reset

Apple iPhone X on iOS 15.4.0

Link successfully copied to clipboard
Copy link

A factory reset will erase all data from your device and is irreversible. This is good to do if you are going to trade in or sell your device. It will wipe all of your personal information from the device.

  1. Step 1/9

    From the Home screen, tap Settings.

    The indicator is towards the right.
  2. Step 2/9

    Tap General.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  3. Step 3/9

    Scroll to Transfer or Reset iPhone

    The indicator is in the center.
  4. Step 4/9

    Tap Transfer or Reset iPhone.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  5. Step 5/9

    Tap Erase All Content and Settings.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  6. Step 6/9

    Tap Continue.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  7. Step 7/9

    Tap Erase Now.

    Note: Before you proceed, make sure to back up all photos, videos, and data you'd like to keep. When you factory reset iPhone, all your files will be deleted. If necessary, enter your passcode.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  8. Step 8/9

    Tap Erase iPhone.

    The indicator is towards the bottom.
  9. Step 9/9
    Step 9 of 9:

    You've completed the steps!

    There are no indicators associated with this step.

Was this tutorial helpful?